Early Childhood

Transcrições disponíveis nas seguintes línguas:

I was born on October 7, 1957, in Tokyo, Japan, to a Japanese mother and an American father. I was raised in Japan and in the Philippines, attending United States DOD (Department of Defense Dependents) schools.

Unfortunately, when I was nine, when we moved to Yokota Air Force Base, which is part west Tokyo, my father died of a heart attack and then my mother went to work for the US government at the front desk of the US military hotel and then through for the military travel services.

So after that, I only spoke Japanese at home. Of course, Japanese was my first language with my mother, and my father, he told my mother, “Speak Japanese, she'll pick up English in school, but make sure she understands Japanese.” So I grew up in Yokota, graduated from Yokota Air Force Base high school, and that's my childhood.

Data: July 14, 2022
Localização Geográfica: California, US
Interviewer: Lana Kobayashi
Contributed by: Watase Media Arts Center, Japanese American National Museum; Japanese American Bar Association

Department of Defense Dependents Schools Japan Japanese language Yokota

Receba novidades

Cadastre-se para novidades por e-mail

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

Apoie o projeto

Descubra Nikkei

O site Descubra Nikkei é um lugar once você pode se conectar com outras pessoas e assim participar nas experiências dos nikkeis. Para continuar a manter e expandir este projeto, nós precisamos da sua ajuda!

Maneiras de ajudar >>

Projeto do Japanese American National Museum

The Nippon Foundation