Combining Culinary Cultures: A Conversation with Nikkei Chefs from Los Angeles, São Paulo, and Lima

  • en
  • es
  • pt
Conference/Presentation

Dec 20223
3:00p.m. - 4:30p.m.

VIRTUAL

Saturday, December 3, 2022 • 3 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. (PST)
(Optional post-program chat with chefs: 4:30 p.m. - 5 p.m.)

Saturday, December 3
  ● 3 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle / Vancouver)
  ● 5 p.m. (Mexico City / Chicago)
  ● 6 p.m. (Lima / New York / Toronto)
  ● 8 p.m. (São Paulo)

Sunday, December 4
  ● 8 a.m. (Tokyo)
  ● 10 a.m. (Sydney)

[Language: English, Español, Português]

Join us for a conversation with noted Nikkei chefs—Niki Nakayama of n/naka (Los Angeles, CA, US), Telma Shiraishi of Restaurante Aizomê (São Paulo, Brazil), and Roger Arakaki of Sushi Ito (Lima, Peru). The program will be moderated by Gil Asakawa, author of the recently published book, Tabemasho! Let’s Eat!: A Tasty History of Japanese Food in America. Carole Iida-Nakayama, co-owner and sous chef of n/naka and n/soto, will also be joining us for the program.

The chefs will discuss their cultural backgrounds and how it has influenced their culinary styles, their thoughts on “Nikkei food,” and more! They will also answer questions from the audience. Following the program, there will be an optional opportunity to chat informally with the chefs in breakout rooms.

For more information >>

This program will be presented via Zoom with simultaneous translation in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. Registration will be required. There is a capacity limit, so register now!

REGISTER NOW!

*This program is sponsored by The Nippon Foundation and is presented in partnership with the Japanese American Cultural & Community CenterJCI Brasil-Japão, and Asociación Peruano Japonesa. Additional support is provided by Onigiri Producciones.

 

editor . Last modified Nov 18, 2022 1:59 p.m.


Get updates

Sign up for email updates

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

Support this project

Discover Nikkei

Discover Nikkei is a place to connect with others and share the Nikkei experience. To continue to sustain and grow this project, we need your help!

Ways to help >>

A project of the Japanese American National Museum


Major support by The Nippon Foundation