Yeisaa nu Chimu-Don-Don: Exploring Cultural Identity through Okinawan Drumming

  • en
  • es
  • pt
Conference/Presentation

Mar 20249
3:00p.m.


March 9, 2024 • 3 p.m. PST
(Optional interactive eisa tutorials: 4:30 p.m.-5 p.m.)

March 9
• 1 p.m. (Honolulu)
• 3 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle / Vancouver)
• 5 p.m. (Dallas / Mexico City / Chicago)
• 6 p.m. (Lima / New York / Toronto)
• 8 p.m. (São Paulo / Buenos Aires)
• 11 p.m. (London)

March 10
• 12 a.m. (Amsterdam)
• 7 a.m. (Manila)
• 8 a.m. (Tokyo)
• 10 a.m. (Sydney)

Eisa is a traditional Okinawan folk dance and musical performance to honor the spirit of Okinawan ancestors. As Okinawans migrated and settled all over the world, their music and dance traditions traveled with them.

Join us for a conversation and Q&A moderated by Shari Y. Tamashiro with members of contemporary eisa groups—Lisa Tamashiro (Chinagu Eisa Hawaii), Rentaro Suzuki (Ryukyukoku Matsuri Daiko Los Angeles Branch), John Azama (Ryukyu Damashii), Cecilia Nue (Seiryu Eisa Kai), and Toshiyuki Yamauchi (Yuriki no Kizuna Eisá Daiko)—as they discuss how eisa connects them to their cultural heritage and identity. An interactive beginners tutorial and opportunity to talk with members from various eisa groups will follow the program.

The main program will be presented via Zoom with simultaneous translation in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. Registration is required using the form below. Limited space is available.

REGISTER NOW

*Deadline to register: Friday, March 8 • 10 a.m. (PST) | 1 p.m. (Lima) | 3 p.m. (São Paulo)

Visit the Discover Nikkei Programs page for more details.

This program is presented by the Japanese American National Museum’s Discover Nikkei project. Community Partners: Okinawan Association of America, Inc.; Hawaii United Okinawa Association; Peru Okinawa Association; Associação Okinawa Kenjin do Brasil / Centro Cultural Okinawa do Brasil. Supported by The Nippon Foundation.

 

editor . Last modified Feb 11, 2024 6:35 a.m.


<<

March 2024

>>

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Login or register to add an event

Also in no location

Feb 27 Nima Voices: Episode 15—Lee A. Tonouchi

Get updates

Sign up for email updates

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

Support this project

Discover Nikkei

Discover Nikkei is a place to connect with others and share the Nikkei experience. To continue to sustain and grow this project, we need your help!

Ways to help >>

A project of the Japanese American National Museum


The Nippon Foundation