Yoko Reikano Kimura Shamisen Recital

  • en
Performing Arts

Jan 20178

Marc A. Scorca Hall, National Opera America Center
330 7th Avenue, 8th Floor
New York, New York, 10001
United States

Marc A. Scorca Hall, National Opera America Center 
330 Seventh Avenue New York
Yoko Reikano Kimura - koto and shamisen player - focuses on the shamisen repertoire, which includes music from various genres. The program will feature masterpieces of classical as well as contemporary shamisen music, which includes Yoko Sato's "Not a Single Cloud Exists" that will be performed by Duo YUMENO. Also, this concert will feature the world premier of Marty Regan's "Shamisen Concerto." New York-based and world-renowned pianist,Taka Kigawa will also perform as a special guest. 

日本の代表的な楽器であり、幅広いジャンルで愛されている三味線。箏・三味線の演奏家として日米で活動する木村伶香能が、三味線のみにターゲットを絞り、ソロリサイタルを開催いたします。近代~現代の三味線の名作が並び、またデュオ夢乃として佐藤容子氏の"Not a Single Cloud Exists"を演奏いたします。木村の委嘱による、三味線協奏曲(マーティン・リーガン作曲)が世界初演されます。ゲスト出演:木川貴幸(ピアノ)、玉木光(チェロ)
Admission:General ($25 advance/$30 at the door), Senior citizens and students ($10) 


APA_Institute . Last modified Dec 16, 2016 8:29 a.m.

Get updates

Sign up for email updates

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

Support this project

Discover Nikkei

Discover Nikkei is a place to connect with others and share the Nikkei experience. To continue to sustain and grow this project, we need your help!

Ways to help >>

A project of the Japanese American National Museum

The Nippon Foundation