Setsuko Thurlow in "The Vow From Hiroshima"

  • en
Film & Other Media

2022年3月6
11:00a.m.

ONLINE
Toronto
Canada

The Vow From Hiroshima
A documentary portrait plus Q&A with Setsuko Thurlow
Sunday, March 6, 2022
Pacific 11am  |  Mountain 12noon |  Central  1pm  |  Eastern 2pm

To mark the week surrounding International Women’s Day the Toronto NAJC and NAJC Human Rights Committee honours Setsuko Thurlow C.M., founder of Japanese Family Services in Toronto and former Toronto NAJC Board member. This is the first event in our 2022 Online Anniversary Human Rights Series.

The Vow From Hiroshima is an intimate portrait of Setsuko Thurlow, a passionate, 90-year-old survivor of the atomic bomb in Hiroshima. Her moving story is told through the lens of her growing friendship with a second generation survivor, Mitchie Takeuchi.”

Setsuko Thurlow is a graduate of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work, earning a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree. As a survivor of the bombing of Hiroshima in 1945, she knows first-hand the devastating effects of nuclear warfare.

Ms.Thurlow has worked tirelessly to campaign against nuclear weapons and is a leading figure in its movement, playing a key role to push the United Nations to adopt a landmark treaty outlawing nuclear weapons. She is a Member of the Order of Canada and the recipient of numerous other awards and honours. In 2017, Ms. Thurlow accepted the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).

Watch Trailer

 

Masaji . 更新日 2022年2月27日


<<

2022年3月

>>

1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31

イベント情報をアップするためにログイン または 登録

Film & Other Media のイベント

7月20日 Kokoro Film Festival at Toronto's Royal Ontario Museum

最新情報を入手

最新情報メールの配信登録

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

プロジェクトをサポート

ディスカバー・ニッケイ

ディスカバー・ニッケイは、互いにネットワークを広げ、日系の体験談を分かち合う場です。プロジェクトを継続し、より良いものにしていくためには、皆さまのご協力が不可欠です。ご支援お願いします!

サポートの方法>>

プロジェクト企画 全米日系人博物館


日本財団